Thanks in advance for being patient with a new member who's just getting started in an area of photography for which I have very limited previous experience.

I'm working with someone right now who has a Fuji SP2500 scanner that was previously configured and working for standalone operation. It's networked to a Windows 10 HP laptop running PIC 2.6 and something called FES in a Windows XP virtual machine under VMWare. All of this was working fine until mid-November, at which point it inexplicably stopped. I've been trying to help them get it back up and running, but don't have expertise on the equipment. I have a lot of experience with computers and electronics in general, and am old enough to have used NT4 and XP when they were new.

When the scanning computer starts up, I get this message:

I-595
Connect to Imaging Controller for updating data.

When I click [OK], I get this error:

W-1531
F-DI device registration failed.
Check the network connections.
Press {Retry] to retry or [Cancel] to cancel.

Retrying doesn't help.

If I cancel, I can get the scanner to go through what seems to be a series of calibration steps with a film carrier in place.

I've checked the network cables and connectivity. Both machines can see shared drives on each other and move files back and forth. They each have a DHCP assigned IP address, and canned be pinged from each other successfully and consistently. Both are assigned to the same Windows Workgroup (MICSGROUP). For the life of me I can't figure out what might have changed to make it all stop working.