Purchasing a Frontier 370...

MockTurtle

Hi,

We're currently looking at purchasing a 2nd hand Frontier 370 minilab...

I am guessing when an ad says 'printer only' it means it doesn't include the scanner/image processor unit (sp-2000).

...keep in mind I'm new to all this so please pardon my ignorance.

- do we require a sp-2000 for the unit to function?

- what is the 'fdi main pc': is this the server/order processing pc? is this unit required for the printer to function?

- what software must we make sure is included? and which versions?

- is it possible to configure a server/order pc using only the supplied/third-party software?

basically we want to be able to get orders from kiosks, so if we are not able to process film its no big deal...

Thanks in advance...

For digital printing you don't need scanner. scanner required if film orders are there.  two pc's required to operate Printer processor. one should work as a print server ( FMPC or LPC) which is directly connected to printer and other one using for send orders to printer via network thru  FMPC.

FDI main PC terms usually used for Order PC.

there wont be  much third party software are available for Printing except Fuji propriety software.  but there is  which is not so common called  front line software.

Printer only means no scanner at all. but make sure it has a controller PC ( FMPC or LPC)

you can use touch screen Kiosk with above mentioned combination.

C.......R