Help: Green showing up in print in high contrast

Radics

Hi, I need some help please. First of all I am not a printer, I am a photographer, but the printers are not speaking English and they are not getting good help from the service company. the printer is a Noritsu QSS37 series and is printing green (visible on black and white prints) in the areas with high contrast (edges, hair, stripes etc.)

We are running a QSS37, now two years old. After installation we experienced all sorts of problems not unlike your sample images. We were extremely disappointed in the output.

The resolve was an upgrade, both profile and software which did cure much but did not address all. We have had to compromise with individual adjustments in print channels and magazines. The offsets we've applied  make it less obvious to all but the lab staff here.

Not that this techo stuff means much to you, but the "fix" involved Ver 3.0 for EZ Controller + Profile data Vol. 3.0 - Ver N2.0, and QSS printer Ver 7.0 There was a Noritsu factory document specifically describing the implications of this upgrade.

This is the same print engine as used in th Fuji minilabs and they know it as a contrast issue also. Rumours earlier this year indicated they (Fuji) had been working on a fix but I haven't heard of anything coming to suface as yet.

I might suggest you visit this site  http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/article_pages/black_and_white_test.html

download the Greyscale Linerization Test Image and the one above it for Test Strip the which you'll find  about half way down thier web page. Print these on th QSS37.

This will give you an idea as to whether the issues arise from intial setup (Laser)  and more related to profiling and LUT data.  If in the linerization image there is an obvious deviation in any one of the gradients then I'd suspect the latter.