MP1600 or 2701 experience, anyone?

Henry here, new member (from Texas, go ahead...I've heard it all.) I'm a former Noritsu tech looking for someone experienced on Noritsu's MP1600, also known as a 2701. Anybody?

• 1 month later...

• 2 weeks later...

I'm looking for help with the uniformity correction software (Windows NT)that runs on the " Edit Image" (AKA  EZ Mall) -equipped PC in a Noritsu MP1600 standalone system. I think it's the same Noritsu app, even in a 2711/21 DLS setup.

We do MLVA setup, and after the MLVA calibrator finishes, the printer spits out a gamma print to correct the color and the uniformity is fine. Then the system finishes MLVA setup with further uniformity corrections (using test prints read on the flatbed scanner and analyzed by this software I'm asking about in this post) and the darker strips on the gamma print have poor uniformity.

It could be the scanner, but I'd like to know more about this correction program, called "Uniscan" "uniformity correction software for Windows NT" "Exefile version H002C  Inifile version Hoo2C" It supervises the printer as it prints the uniformity test prints, then runs the scanner as it reads the prints, then analyzes the data and applies the corrections and feeds them to the printer for product with fewer lines in them.

Questions:

What are Uniformity LUT files, and Paper Gamma LUT files and why does this program give the user the option to open various copies?

On Uniformity setup--calculation pattern menu, it gives you the chioce of ten different correction strategies to correct uniformity (if I've got this right) (R, 1/2R, =, 1/2R non limit, auto...etc)

Pic_save.dat can be shown graphically (it's in the file menu) as sort of an RGB clothesline plot, how do you interpret it?  

Normally, you don't even interact with this app, you do all this from the printer's screen, but I think there's options here Noritsu doesn't call attention to, since it's supposed to be automated.

Thanks, Henry