Need some drylab advice/help!

andrewstanford

Hi, I was just recently hired at a photography company to be their printer. The company does family beach portraits and have for the past 10 years always outsourced their printing to companies like Millers. Im a recent grad from the savannah college of art & design with a major in photography, but my specialty is in large format inkjet printers, like the epson 7900. When we met I basically sparked the idea of her investing in a printer and hiring me to do all her printing (so i would have access to a printer for my own work ::wink::) The owner is a very knowledgable lady with a very successful business. She claims that in the past summer seasons they do anywhere from 300 - 500 prints a week. So we need a printer that can to med to high volume. So i have been doing research for weeks and weeks and I have pretty much narrowed it down to either the Noritsu D703 or the Fujifulm Frontier DL600. When i originally quoted her the price of getting a printer, i quoted for the epson 7900 which was around $4000. Now with these dry-labs they are ranging in the 30,000 range. The owner has no problem spending the money, but she is kind a picky in what she likes and doesn't. Her specs of what she needs is a printer that will print sizes 3x4 wallets, 4x6, 5x7, and 8x10 that are printed bleed and already cut, basically pulling them right off the printer to be packaged to sale. She want to be abel to back printer her company name on the back of the image. She is also very concerned with wanting a well know company name (fuji, kodak, ect) name on the back of the paper, as she says her customers trust that it is more "professional". Most of the clients are well wealthy, older grandmothers and families. We met with a Noritsu rep last thursday and she really sold me on the D703, for the back printing and the duel side printing for books. I talked with a Fuji rep on the phone and he was helpful, but said the DL600 doesn't do the duel printing