Vinyl/ cassettes to CD

Tony.T

As an aside to copying video to DVD, I've been asked by several people if we can convert vinyl records and/ cassette tapes to CD.

Well I'll be launching this service in the next few days.

How is it done you ask? Well in fact the way to do it can cost you nothing, you may well have all you need at home just gathering dust !!

Firstly watch this-

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Mq5CSJ7LzrU

Then if you haven't got a record deck buy one of these off e-bay,   160289317962

If you need a cassette deck, buy one off e-bay, I've just bought a top of the range s/h technics deck for

I think there are copyright issues, the same ones that stop us doing films and tv shows on video to DVD. As i understand it the personal use bit is when you do the copying yourself for your own use. If you copy for others and charge, you are infringing copyright.I'm not a lawyer so I might be wrong but thats how it was explained to me.

Copyright is a problem however if the item is a home recording for home use then it becomes a grey area. You could make your own copyright release form where the customer takes on copyright responiblity. Records and prerecorded material are really a no no, but as time passes by this service will become more important. The turn will not be huge but a valueable service to offer for little cost.

You are allowed by law to have a backup of digital media, this includes CD's and even software.. well this used to be the case not so long back anyway :)

So if we assume this is still the case and we get the customer to sign a copyright indemnity form then we should be in the clear?

Anyone got any wording we can use for a form?