Servicing minilabs as a career

CianMcLiam

Hi all,

I'm brand new here, so please be nice!

I have been offered a position as a service engineer working with minilab equipment. My background is in electronics and pc support/networking with over five years experience in the field with a mix of hardware/software and mechanical equipment. Are there any engineers out there who work with minilabs who can advise me on what I can expect if I take up this offer? As everything goes digital would this mean more electronic/pc support or is there still a lot of messy and awkward mechanical stuff involved? How are minilabs to service ie are they mostly modular with assemblies being replaced rather than tediously stripped down?

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated as I am very interested in this job as I am also a photographer and very keen on the whole digital imaging sector.

Thanks in advance!

Cian

The way things are going in the industry at the moment , the scrap yards will be as full off old analoge machines as cars (well, almost). interesting times indeed.

The type of work will depend entirely upon what kind off business your new employer is in, and where. There are far more dry printers and inkjet printers within minilabs now, but a wet printer will allways be a wet printer, whether digital or analogue.

Best of luck with the new job !!!!!!!

Thank you! The vast majority of the work will be with digital fuji frontiers and kiosks if that narrows it down enough. Although I have done a lot of mechanical type work before I do less and less of it now and dont really miss it. In fact my preference would be for the least amount of mechanical work and more electronic/pc hardware/software etc.

Cian

• 2 weeks later...