Copying Copyright Photos

Peter Thornton

This has come up on another thread but I thought it was worth one of its own.

Our policy is simple. I won't copy a photograph if this will take someone elses profit.

So:

A wedding picture taken by a photographer who left town 10 years ago.

A cruise picture taken in  the Caribean - with no directions, stamp etc to order more copies

a 5 year old school picture

Etc, etc I will copy.

Any picture with a backstamp of a currently practising photographer - I will not copy.

If the customer tells me that the photographer charges too much then I politely tell them that this is a matter to discuss with the photographer. Sometimes I am told that the photographer does not mind. I usually tell them that I am a friend of the photographer and is it ok if I just give them a ring?

The fact is that these matters are not always absolutely simple. I know that I'm not allowed to copy a 30 year old school photo - but is the company with the copyright going to be able to provide this service?

If the photographic community concentrated on stamping their prints then they would make life a lot easier for themselves and for us.

What do you think?

pretty much the same for us.

Any photo that has 'professional' jumping out at you I am very wary of, especially if it is recent. In general I won't copy any copyrighted photo except in very exceptional circumstances eg if one of the subjects has just died and a copy is needed asap for the funeral (this has happened several times unhappily)

This whole subject is a minefield, if in doubt don't do it and explain why- afterall the photographer involved may one day be a future customer......

Tony