In Deep Dooo - Sp2500

Silverlight

Hello fellow lab owners + I am new to his forum and have come for some help.

We have been a lab for 17yrs, and I have been in the photo-biz for 30.

We are a film only lab.

We acquired this SP2500 from a company in Canada [we/in Denver][upset just thinking about it].

The experience has been less than stellar - in fact darn-right heart breaking.

When we inquired about buying from them, we made our requirements known.

We needed an SP2500 or SP3000 to use as a standalone scanner - to CD. We will do no printing, only scans.

What we got was something incomplete, and very old [not the latest SP2500].

We managed to pull teeth and get some of the missing parts, but the machine as it sits will not do what we need it to do.

Missing are some things we might not know of, but the major things currently missing is ALL SOFTWARE, ALL TECH MANUALS. Now I know my way around most photo machines, but I havent been around minilabs since college.

This scanner has a very old Toshiba, running WIN-nt with the fuji driver OS - 6.6-OE.

I am not sure if we will be able to be refunded or be able to return this machine. Right now it is a big-dead weight in my shop. I am willing to pay for some tech assistance over the phone if need be. Otherwise this was a disaster sale for us, the seller not responsive.

Can anyone direct me to a place we can get full needed software?

Can this machine work as a stand alone as it currently sits?

Can this machine be upgraded - ie; computer, newer software, etc ?

I can not get into the FUJI system settings, they are passcode protected.

I would like to get this machine working. Do you think it is possible?

Should we cut our losses and trash it?

Best Regards, Dave Wood

Edited by dr5chrome