Fujifilm DE100 vs. DX100

Since I have got some experience over the time with both printers and I think it can be helpful for those who has to choose between, there is some info good to know:

1. Print quality - DE100 wins - better uniformity in both lights and shadows, a bit higher optical resolution, overall more typical wet lab look. However the margin is narrow.

2. Print speed - practically same

3. Reliability - point for DE100 - much higher build quality on DE100 - not only for printhead that is designed to last 4-5 times more than DX100 but other essential components are also build for reliability. They are too many aspects and details here but in short you should not expect to have any issues with DE100 up to his designed life span end of 200,000 prints where DX100 barely gets without problem up to 100,000 copies. Also expand life of DE100 above 200K prints is much easier - maintenance and reset software is embedded in to supplied software with the printer. My wild guess is that DE100 will get to 400K with ease.

4. Operating costs - all point goes to DX100 - ink cost is almost twice lees on DX100 compared to DE100. DE100 uses around 10% up to max 15% less ink but the price of cartridge is almost double. Moreover they are number of non OEM good quality inks for DX100 but for DE100 there is only one source other than OEM and the prices are still heavy. Maintenance tank is also more expensive and can not be refurbished nor to be reset as easy as on DX100. 

That is it in short. 

Honestly, forget both printers. Both are not made by Fujifilm, DE100 made by Ricoh and DX100 made by Epson. Instead, get Epson D700 or D800. Way more cheaper tha Fujifilm consumable. If you said DX100 inks is more cheaper than DE100, Epson's ink cheaper than DX100 although they are basically the same just different chip.

Downside is, Epson Order Controller software is crappy compare than Fujifim's but still usable