How can I help my lab to stop clipping my highlights/shadows on their Noritsu HS-1800?

Corvus

Hello!

I am just a photographer who enjoys shooting film and sends my film to a lab that uses a Noritsu HS-1800.

Unfortunately my lab seems to have trouble giving me all of the information that is on my negatives, even when asked for "flat scans". Often times my highlights/shadows are clipped and/or lack detail that I know is on the negative, or they are just generally too contrasty, or there is some weird color cast that I find nearly impossible to remove entirely.

Basically I just want the equivalent of a digital raw file of my negatives. I want all the power to edit and correct the scans myself. I want all the highlights/shadows with all the information towards the middle of the histogram with room on either end to manually set my black/white points for each color channel.

I don't really care for any automatic or manual corrections on the Noritsu, I just want the raw sensor that was picked up so that I have as much wiggle room as possible in photoshop/lightroom to do the corrections myself.

I have already told my lab this many times, yet they struggle to consistently give me really flat scans without clipping.

Can anyone with experience with the HS-1800 shed some light on this?

• Is it possible for the Noritsu to deliver a scan like this?
  • Where are they(or me) going wrong?
  • Is there anything I could tell my lab to do in the DSA panel that would give me the results that I want?

Thank you all in advance! 

-2 Overall Contrast and -1 Highlight Contrast should give you a good starting point.

I also set the Automatic Graininess Suppression to 0 and set the Sharpness to -2, this takes away the over sharpened smudgy look.

Have them save it in TIFF instead of JPG as JPG files are always more difficult to edit later.

This is what DSA settings are available.DSASettings.thumb.jpg.2060c7b6de6de0afa204f7bd6f69478b.jpg